Monday, February 16, 2015

The Fairy Tales, Once Upon a Time Lessons, First Book

NEW From Symbologist Michelle Snyder: 

Stories are part of childhood. They help us grow, build our imagination, instill a sense of wonder and hope, and help us understand right and wrong. Mothers have told stories to teach children culture and tradition, moral and ritual, and behavioral consequences ever since there were mothers. In the words of Fairy Queen Titania: "Is it not the mothers who bring up the babes, and give the growing child its earliest lesson to know right from wrong?" Fairy tales and folklore provide an entertaining, imaginative way of doing just that.

This is how education was done in our long-ago past – stories and pictures were used to teach industry, science, tradition, and morals. Yet, these wonder tales were told to children not just for the moral of the story, but to instill in them respect for and knowledge of history and traditions, and sometimes that history was far from pleasant. 

The Fairy Tales is a series of four short books presenting fifty-two wonder tales, one for each week of a year based on the phases of the moon: new, first quarter, full, and last quarter. There are thirteen classic fairy tales in each book; stories within a story. Once a week teacher Mother Merlina tells a tale to Fair One, who is taught important things with a fanciful story of character and struggle, fate and fortune, wisdom and foolery. The stories are archetypal in nature, and as such are universal in their import and message. Some are long, some are very short, but all are full of fanciful characters, magic, and wondrous events. 

 Once upon a time, in a great kingdom by the sea, there lived a young Fair One. In order that she might receive the best education and become a just and compassionate leader, the young princess sat with her tutor Mother Merlina once a week. Together they would spend hours by the window which looked out upon a vast ocean and its rolling waves, and the wise woman would tell our Fair One the most important stories of all time while the princess looked at a picture from the box with the silken wrap. In it were parchments of colorful pictures, one for each story, made long ago by an unknown artist. They were a treasure. Over the weeks to come many wonderful pictures would be enjoyed. Each quarter of a year, Mother Merlina would begin a series of stories to teach the young princess about the moon, as well as some very important lessons about life; perfect for reading to young children. Classic fairy tales in book one:

Aladdin and the Magic Lamp, Beauty & the Beast, The Blue Bird, Bremen Town Musicians, Cinderella, The Donkey, the Table, & the Stick, The Elves & the Shoemaker, The Emperor's New Clothes, The Fair One with the Golden Locks, The Fish & the Ring, The Fisherman & His Wife, The Frog Prince, The Golden Bird

About Symbologist Michelle Snyder

Michelle earned her post-graduate degree at the University of Wales, decoding prehistoric images, mythology, folklore, and fairy tales and tracing them to their roots. She is an author, columnist, publisher, artist, and teacher. Her artwork, inspired by her love of symbolism and folklore, has appeared in galleries from Massachusetts to California. Michelle is co-owner of White Knight Studio.
     Books by Michelle, available at Amazon:

     Symbology series:
Available at Amazon

Symbology ReVision: Unlocking Secret Knowledge  
Symbology: Hidden in Plain Sight
Symbology: My Art and Symbols 
Symbology: Fairy Tales Uncovered 
Symbology: Decoding Classic Images 
Symbology: World of Symbols 
Symbology: Secrets of the Mermaids

  Fairy Tales: 
A Tale of Three Kingdoms: Book One - The Lost Unicorn
A Tale of Three Kingdoms: Book Two - The Lost Mermaid

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your thoughts?